Phone: 029-88211313

About Us

    School of Mechanical Engineering (SME) is known as Departments of Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics before. Department of Mechanical Engineering was founded in 1913 in Shanghai, and then moved to Xi’an in 1956. Department of Mechanics was established in 1985. The two departments were combined in June 1994 and came into being SME.

   The main targets of SME include excellent talents development in mechanical engineering area, and promotion for mechanical industry of China through advanced technology exploitation.The total staff of SME is 236, including 72 professors, 59 associate professors, 95 PhD supervisors, and 166 master’s supervisors. There are more than 1290 undergraduate and 900 full-time postgraduate students, over 587 PhD and 444 part-time postgraduate students.